The Planning is Complete!

Standard

I made serious progress today!  Finished my planning pages – it took a while because I kept using generic ones, and I realized I needed something that truly works for me.  I hate to “double-do” stuff, so I didn’t really want to put everything on the pages – I use the calendar on my iphone.  It is wonderful because it syncs and both the hubby and I use it, so we always know when all the family appointments are and it has auto reminders (remember, I AM the mom of little brain) and it is super helpful to hear a “ding” a day and an hour or two in advance.  I rarely miss an appointment anymore.  So no, I will not go back to a paper planner for that.

However, being the tactile person that I am, tasks are so much better when they are organized and in a list I can check off.  Oh, I know, there is “Wunderlist” and “Toodledo” and all kinds of cool programs out there for the iphone or android, but I really need to be able to have the list in hand for it to work for me.  Here’s an example of my “Monday” list.  It has all of the stuff that I need.  I guess that’s what I would suggest to anyone trying to get organized like me…use what works for YOU.

Screen Shot 2013-01-10 at 11.58.07 PM

All the things that are “static” I typed into the form, but anything that will change I left blank.  Since I hate to waste paper, I put each day in a sheet protector and will use a very fine non-permanent marker to fill in each week.  Since I finally took the time to tailor it to ME, I am feeling confident about following my own plan.  Yay!

All of the pages are going into a slim binder, and I have made sections for medical info, emergency contact info, home projects/maintenance for the year, budget, and of course the remaining weekly pages.  So the part I like is done.  That being said, I am happy to announce that my fridge, junk drawer, dresser drawers, reorganized kids bath, loft, and master bath have remained pristine all week.  I also started repairing a hole in the wall of my laundry room (dachshunds that want out will dig through anything… :/ ) making repairs on the buffet I bought, and prepping my fireplace surround for a faux marble treatment.  I feel like the little engine that could “I think I can, I think I can…”  And all of this while fighting this nasty cold!

Speaking of which, I finally gave up and went to the doctor after 8 days of coughing up yucky stuff.  Z-Pacs are a wonderful thing…on day two and I am almost normal again!

I had the pleasure of taking my youngest with me to the doc.  Let me tell you – I love ALL of my children, but I have a special bond with Callie.  She’s my mini-me.  I waited a long time for her and she is truly a blessing in my life.  She never fails to make me smile.  We stopped at McDonald’s after my appointment and of course she had to pose for a pic…

photo

Love, love, love that girl!  She is my sunshine.

Then there are my dig-loving dachshunds…how could I not love them?  I have four, but here are my two 6 month old girls waiting for dad to give treats…

the girls

They are more entertainment than I can buy anywhere!

Well dear readers, it is late and time for me to hit the hay so I can get back to “the list” tomorrow.  Happy Friday to you!

~K

Leave a comment